Gil Scott-Heron R.I.P.

Posted: May 28, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

I am so bummed by his passing and I never met him, maybe that’s why I am bummed?? because he was going to be in Toronto a few times this year and I vowed I would see him.
Why so bummed?

He spoke not just for a generation, but he spoke truth which is way more important since truth transcends generations. His most notable piece “The revolution will not be Televised” is more poignant with each decade. As we sit watching “news” networks seeking to convince us of various forms of revolutions, one cannot help but notice that the real revolution cannot be televised!!

I am bummed because while his messages are  still poignant he may not be celebrated or glorified as other near -do-well celebrities.  Because his messages were sometimes hard truths mainstream media will probably ticker tape him and his passing.  Their announcements may not even include a picture, and will invariable simply say something like “the writer of the revolution will not be televised died”.  I am bummed because artist like him are always seemingly under-loved.  I am bummed that some will only remember his flaws.

On a more musical note; what Gil Scott-Heron accomplished was unique. He made the spoken word relevant across multiple genres and platforms. His was a poetic-rap-jazz-soul-eclectic musical form that could not be easily copied because of his nuance (the only other genre which could compare is Dub Poetry). So through his style, his content his consistency we were able to sit up and listen. I will miss him but thanks to youtube, not for long!

R.I.P. Gil Scott-Heron and important legend passed by here…

Leave a Reply

